Next build of app #2…

Got another build from the developer yesterday. It’s within a few days of being ready, as long as we can get the test ads to work properly. iAds (Apple’s advertising network) is working properly as the first line advertiser; however, Admob (Google’s mobile advertising network) is the backfill option in case iAd doesn’t have an ad to fill the space, and it wasn’t possible to tell whether it was working because the iAd test ad was always there while testing. At least so it seemed…

Last night I logged into my Admob account for the app and saw that there were 7 impressions on my test app… uh oh. I’m guessing these are production live impressions, not test impressions. So I emailed the developer to make sure he plugged in the test ad code for Admob so that it doesn’t send real ads to my app while in testing (this was something I figured out with app #1). So hopefully tomorrow he can fix that. In the mean time, I’m not going to test the app while it’s pulling real ads down, because Google doesn’t like it if you’re pulling real ads while your app is in test mode (as advertisers are paying for the space in your app, and they wouldn’t want to be paying for test app space if they knew about it).

Leave a comment