Feeling like a lawyer with all this legal crap…

For my two hours last night, I did some research on how to strategically name my app so that it will get the most visibility within the app store. This brought up some questions in my mind about the legality of my original name… after some research, it turns out that I would have run into copyright issues with the original name. The company that owns the rights to the original name is actively suing companies who infringe upon their intellectual property over the past couple of years, so I’m going to rename the app entirely.

I also sent over a couple of other (small) concerns about the first build of app #2 from the developer. I used the app a few times throughout the course of the day to test it and made mental notes of the items that I’d like to change. I think the changes are all pretty small.

The most exciting part of my entrepreneurial time yesterday was when my friend, the plagiarizing graphic artist (upon whom I have opened an investigation with the contracting website I used to hire him) started hitting me up via email and Skype for his final payment. Yeah right! He’s not getting any more money out of me. I’m probably out the original 25% upfront payment, but I’m not dumb enough to give him any more money. I’m not using any of his artwork – found a few nights ago that at least three of the images he submitted to me were copies of artwork that shows up pretty quickly in google image searching. Hopefully I can get a new artist hired today or tomorrow so that we can get some original artwork going and get the app finished with no legal concerns.

Leave a comment